Austin, TX – Texas State Representative Cecil Bell, Jr. (House District 3) has introduced a bill to provide capital project funding for two buildings within Prairie View A&M University (PVAMU). House Bill 1408 authorizes the issuance of revenue bonds for capital projects at PVAMU.

“As one of the three universities stated in the Texas Constitution to be an ‘institution of the first class,’ I am proud to assist Prairie View A&M University in turning a new page with new facilities and a renewed spirit to pursue its core values of access, quality, diversity, leadership, relevance and social responsibility,” said Rep. Bell.

Prairie View A&M, a university which has grown significantly within the past six year thanks in part to $175 million of state funds, looks to once again enrich its student-focused programs through the introduction of $40 million in tuition revenue bonds. Nearly $31 million of the proposed bond is to be put towards a new fabrication design center near the campus’ architecture building as wells as improve the existing infrastructure. In doing so, the University aims to not only reduce the congestion of its roadways but also increase the safety of its students through the construction of a new emergency response center.

Additionally, H.B. 1408 looks to spent $10 million to develop the Innovation Commercialization Center for Entrepreneurs (ICCE) facility. Initiated by A&M Chancellor John Sharp’s challenge to spur economic growth in Texas, Prairie View A&M intends to meet this demand through ICCE by increasing lab and innovation spaces. Currently, there is notable shortage of these areas on campus as an increasing amount of students and faculty are engaging in research activities.

Prairie View A&M’s enrollment now exceeds 8,000 including more than 2,000 graduate students. Students come from throughout the United States as well as many foreign countries. In the last five years, 5,970 degrees were awarded, including more than 2,400 graduate degrees. During the University’s 130-year history, some 46,000 academic degrees have been awarded.